Frankie Knuckles House Master

Posted on March 31, 2015

Defected Records has announced the release of ‘House Masters Frankie Knuckles’ a charity release in collaboration with DEF Mix management and the estate of Frankie Knuckles. The project initially began in February 2014, when Frankie Knuckles began hand-picking productions and remixes that he wanted to include in the retrospective to celebrate his illustrious career to date. On the sad news that Frankie Knuckles had passed away on March 31 2014, the project was paused. Since then, the creation of the Frankie Knuckles Fund, in partnership with Elton John Aids Foundation, the album will see a full release with all profits being donated to the charity.

DEF Mix Family

Affectionately named the Godfather Of House, Frankie Knuckles made a critical contribution to the scene he loved, from his early days in Chicago’s Warehouse, where he played in the late ‘70s and early 80’s to the almost constant international tour schedule he maintained right up until his passing, as clubbers all over the world flocked to watch, listen and learn. He was a driving force throughout his career, a ball of positive energy that had time for everyone and inspired countless artists and DJs. The outpouring of respect and love after his passing was an indication of the regard in which he was held all around the club world, and how much he had meant to people of all walks of life. The tracklist for ‘House Masters Frankie Knuckles’ includes many of the most influential and highly-regarded records from the Grammy-winning producer, including ‘Tears’, ‘Your Love’, ‘The Whistle Song’ and ‘Baby Wants To Ride’ alongside seminal remixes for Alison Limerick, Inner City, Chaka Khan, Hercules & Love Affair, First Choice and Pet Shop Boys.


“I miss my friend dearly. Words cannot describe my emptiness and I derive my strength from the memories that will be with me for the rest of my life. The music that we made together with our hearts will always sooth me when I take a listen.” David Morales

“In the beginning there was Frankie Knuckles. His legend transcends the movement that he helped create. His many incredible production influences still bring House, Soul and Disco to dance floors all over the world. I consider myself truly honoured, not only to have played and danced to his music but also to have worked with Frankie at Cooltempo, A&M:PM & Defected.” Simon Dunmore

“The Elton John AIDS Foundation is honoured to be administering a new Fund in memory of Frankie Knuckles. This fund will support the Foundation’s work with young men of colour around the World, particularly gay men, who are often subject to severe discrimination and abuse and who struggle to get compassionate information and treatment about HIV and AIDS.” Anne Aslett, Elton John AIDS Foundation

Defected presents House Masters Frankie Knuckles is out 26 April 2015 (2CD and digital) on Defected Records. 100% of the profits will be donated to the Frankie Knuckles Fund.


01. Frankie Knuckles featuring Jamie Principle ‘Your Love’
02. Frankie Knuckles presents Satoshi Tomiie ‘Tears’ (Classic Vocal)
03. Frankie Knuckles ‘The Whistle Song’ (Sound Factory Mix)
04. Alison Limerick ‘Where Love Lives’ (Classic Mix)
05. Hercules & Love Affair ‘Blind’ (Frankie Knuckles Remix)
06. Frankie Knuckles featuring Roberta Gilliam ‘Workout’ (1992 Vocal Mix)
07. Frankie Knuckles with Jamie Principle ‘Baby Wants To Ride’
08. Andrea Mendez ‘Bring Me Love’ (Classic Frankie)
09. Frankie Knuckles ‎’Only The Strong Survive’ (Club Mix)
10. Frankie Knuckles ‘It’s Hard Sometime’ (FK Classic Club)
11. Adeva ‘Beautiful Love’ (Extended)

01. Inner City ‘Whatcha Gonna Do With My Lovin’’ (Def Mix)
02. Sounds Of Blackness ‘The Pressure’ (Frankie Knuckles Classic Mix)
03. The Nightwriters ‘Let the Music Use You’ (Club Mix)
04. First Choice ‘Let No Man Put Asunder’ (12″ Frankie Knuckles Remix)
05. Frankie Knuckles ‎’Rain Falls’ (FK Original)
06. Rufus & Chaka Khan ‘Ain’t Nobody’ (Hallucinogenic Version)
07. Loose Ends ‘Hangin’ On A String’ (Frankie Knuckles Club Mix)
08. Frankie Knuckles featuring Adeva ‘Too Many Fish’ (Classic Frankie Version)
09. Lisa Stansfield ‘Change’ (Knuckles Mix)
10. Pet Shop Boys ‘Left To My Own Devices’ (Frankie Knuckles Royal Piano Version)
11. Frankie Knuckles presents Director’s Cut featuring Jamie Principle ‘I’ll Take You There’ (Director’s Cut Classic Signature Mix)

The release will be accompanied by a limited edition commemorative t-shirt, available exclusively from the Defected online store, with all profits being donated to the Frankie Knuckles Fund.

To make a donation check out the CHARITY PAGE